Webfest 2020

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the CERN’s annual hackathon based on open web technologies took place online for the first time! Over 400 people signed up for the event from 75 countries across the globe.

The theme for this year’s event was ‘working together apart: accelerating collaboration’. Given the global COVID-19 crisis, the organisers were particularly keen to see projects that address the evolving ways in which we work together. 

Over 30 different projects, addressing topics such as science communication, health, facilitating research, data visualisation, volunteer computing, education, and more, were presented online in form of a one-minute video. 

While the projects worked on formed the core of the Webfest, there was so much more to this year’s event. Six workshops were held across the weekend, during which experts from CERN shared important skills and insights with the participants. Highlights included a talk from CERN’s head of computer security, Stefan Lüders, on staying safe online, and a talk from Manuella Cirilli of CERN’s Knowledge Transfer group on how to give good presentations.

We would like to thank everyone who participated in this year's special Webfest edition, as well as all the mentors, judges and partners who made the CERN Webfest 2020 happen and be such a great experience! 

Our panel of judges:

  • Charlotte Lindberg Warakaulle - CERN, Director for International Relations.
  • Jens Vigen - CERN, Senior scientific Information officer. 
  • Ben Segal - CERN, Honorary staff member. 
  • Alessandra Rojas - EPFL, Sustainable Entrepreneurship Manager. 
  • Jean-Pierre Reymond - Permanent Mission of Switzerland to UN, Head of Innovation partnerships. 
  • Ines Knaepper - World Economic Forum - GATF, innovation and Hackathon Lead. 
  • Francois Grey - University of Geneva, Director of the Geneva Tsinghua Initiative. 
  • David Galbraith - anthemis Group, Designer and serial entrepreneur.
  • Caterina Doglioni - Lund University, Senior lecturer. 
  • Bilge Demirkoez - Middlle East Technical University (METU), Professor of high energy physics. 
  • Nikki Boehler - Opendata.ch, Director.
  • Rachel Ainsworth - Software Sustainability Institute, Research Software Community Manager. 

Our 7 highlights:

Our overall winner:

Congratulations to the winning team, the 6 finalists and all the participants for their efforts and achievements in such a short period of time!

indico link: